Prisoner

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen your smile
Here I am shackled, breaking rocks, into piles
Halfway through, my 30 year’s sentence from the trial
I’m hoping you knew, our date was still worthwhile

We ate a good meal and were talking in our booth
Loud laughing through dessert, while the others blamed our youth
The ice cream found the cavity in my tooth
And you noticed my pain; you being the great sleuth

If you had been psychic that beautiful day
You’d be alive writing about my feet of clay
We’ll never know why he decided to betray
I know I was nailed down watching you pray

I was trapped in my mind and not able to move
There was a sliver of light that opened a groove
My alarm went off and I hoped my dream might improve
A nightmare that even Scooby and Shaggy couldn’t approve

© 2012 Michael Yost 08/23

2 responses to “Prisoner

Leave a comment