Shun

The siren’s pen beckons for affection
Drawing you close by his direction
With the promise of confection
And no sense of deception
Or feeling rejection
Only election
To elation
Perfection
Erect
Shun?

MarionS
© 2011 Michael Yost

http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulinethomas/4179831120/

One Shot Wednesday

68 responses to “Shun

  1. “no sense of deception or feeling rejection,” – Yes, and thank God for the poets, there. None are excluded in it, each can take their own reading in a poem, each can find sanctuary in its words. Yet in the writing and the pursuit, do the poets erect their own shunning? Of course there’s other ways to take the final lines…

    Splendid work though. Great one for the One Shot!

    Like

  2. I had a definite interpretation for the final lines, coupled (as it were) with the picture: STEAMY!!!

    Will try and keep logging on, but don’t expect much from me before Feb. Keep the faith and keep writing! I had to drop out of the writing daily group, but I am scribbling in my journal for now. Do love the scritchity-scratch!

    Peace, Amy

    Like

  3. This was as enticing as the photograph screams kiss me here! Sensitively and seductively penned Boogaloo!

    Like

  4. Nice wordplay. And yep, I’d have to say the neck angle looks phallic. The siren’s pen that begins the poem seems like the shun premeditated in a way. Very creative.

    Like

  5. This made me smile, such possibility of rude interpretations, but subtle enough that my gran could read it and find a completely different and very poetic interpretation. Really interesting structure and the words you’ve carefully selected work really well in each line. =)

    Like

  6. ha. love the pic and it brings right to the front your verse…nicely played on the words. happy one shot!

    Like

  7. You made it work it in all its mechanical phallic glory from the descent of the words to the erect(ion) of the chin in the image. Gay @beachanny

    Like

  8. Well that was extraordinarily well crafted.

    Like

  9. 🙂 I enjoyed this alone…very nice.
    Happy Rally!
    Life has to be fun, it is the only one we got 🙂

    Like

  10. Have never seen an erect shun, but I can imagine what it looks like!

    Like

  11. Love the word play. A little naughty fun! 🙂

    Like

  12. I’m still chuckling that you actually found that pic to go with this poem…perfect!

    Like

  13. Amazing..this was simply put, wonderful..
    Oh my i liked everythig from the inuendo, the rhyme, the picture, the format..all of it.. great One Shot!!!

    Like

  14. Clever. Smart. Loved it.

    Like

  15. Photo and poem: clever, Michael. Nice job!

    Thanks. I enjoyed this more than anything tonight.

    Poem on …

    Like

  16. thats yummy! 😉 nice work. not far out there at all, perfectly clear to me, at least my interpretation lol! great use of word play as well. you always entertain! 🙂

    Kellie

    Like

  17. Playing with words I see. I like it! I enjoy the wit very much. I can never get enough of play on words. very clever.

    Like

  18. Whew, someone open a window here, the words are making me steam. (That is, a poem well done.)

    Like

  19. You left me in {{{giggles}}} ~ Love it! ♥

    Like

  20. oh my god the giggles. I blushed. I well and truly blushed when I got to the end. Was NOT expecting it, but wholly delighted it in when I got there. *tips hat* Well played.

    Like

  21. Sensual and stunning word play..i like the form of the lines missing one word at a time..Stirring one shot..:)

    Like

  22. this was really good…the flow and rhyme was excellent…really liked this and the comments really back up what us a damn good poem..cheers pete

    Like

  23. Love your wordplay! Words and forms like these are what make poetry so darn fun. I just discovered the etheree a couple weeks ago and tried it out myself– it’s a form that just begs to be played with! If you care to check mine out, it’s here:

    http://lizziviggi.blogspot.com/2010/12/pillow-case.html

    Happy One Shot!

    Like

  24. oh la la – very well done…cough…

    Like

  25. well done. I really like the form.

    Like

  26. The descending cascade (or is it ascending?) of the rhyme pulls you right into it. Well done.

    Like

  27. “C’est Magnifique”

    Clever, witty, humorous, and artistically done. Love the photo -word play.
    Being I am a very visual person, this was a sheer delight.

    cheers,
    joanny

    Like

  28. Clever. Is there a name for this form?

    Like

  29. Hot. Your form led us right down to the steamy… um, climax. Nicely done.

    Like

  30. Both funny and clever. I can’t remember if you read my post “she’s selling guitar lessons, right?” but I think it’s on the same wave length…

    Like

  31. Seductive with not so covert guiding picture attached… there are various meanings to this poem and what suits me best is the feeling of being at the verge of committing… I liked the word Erect that you used to convey and guide various meanings to the whole of the verse…
    thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com
    Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

  32. erotic …love the end.

    Like

  33. Nice form with steam attached. I do look at the picture and think of a vampire ready to bite. Don’t ask 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

